Open European Championship

The Open European Championship is a 10 rounds McMahon tournament. After seven rounds, the best eight Europeans will be separated from the field to determine the European Champion in a knock-out tournament. For this separation, there is no second criterion besides the number of points. If necessary, tie-breakers will be played.

Playing Area

  • Parksaal (top boards, play-offs)
  • Kleiner Saal (boards 26 to 60)
  • Großer Saal

Thinking Times
The thinking times are the same for both players and depend on the higher ranked player as follows:

  • 7 dan to 4 dan:  2.5 hours basic time + 1 minute byoyomi
  • 3 dan to 3 kyu:  2 hours basic time + 3 times 30 seconds byoyomi
  • 4 kyu and below:  1.5 hours basic time + 30 seconds byoyomi

Winners

  1. Jan Simara
  2. Ilya Shikshin
  3. Pavol Lisy
  4. Thomas Debarre
  5. Ondrej Silt
  6. Antti Törmänen
  7. Mateusz Surma
  8. Cornel Burzo

2. Week: Players with 4 or more wins

Pairings

Results

Playoff

qualifications quarter finals (round 8) semi finals (round 9) finals (round 10) European Champion 2012
   Shiksin 7d Shikshin B+1,5 Shikshin W+R  Simara
 Pop 7d Surma B+2.5
 Surma 6d
   Debarre 6d Debarre W+4,5
   Törmänen 6d
   Silt 6d Lisy W+R Simara B+10.5
 Lisy 5d Lisy W+R
 Florescu 6d
   Burzo 6d Simara W+R
 Simara 6d Simara W+9.5
 Zhao 6d

SGFs

# Timetable Begin End
1 Sunday - 22 July 2012 10:00 16:00
2 Monday - 23 July 2012 10:00 16:00
3 Tuesday - 24 July 2012 10:00 16:00
4 Thursday - 26 July 2012 10:00 16:00
5 Friday - 27 July 2012 10:00 16:00
6 Monday - 30 July 2012 10:00 16:00
7 Tuesday - 31 July 2012 10:00 16:00
8 Thursday - 02 August 2012 10:00 16:00
9 Friday - 03 August 2012 10:00 16:00
10 Saturday - 04 August 2012 10:00 16:00